L R AS Published on Tuesday 15 June 2021 - n° 366 - Categories:PV Watch

A look at the good and bad Chinese producers in PV

After nine months of rising silicon prices, will there be such a rapid decline in prices as there is always when there is inflation in the price of a raw material? Will we see a resumption of the decline in panel prices that we have seen over the past ten years? We can hope so, but is it realistic if we consider the market situation? There is a role-playing game between the manufacturers of the different stages of the photovoltaic industry. There are good and bad producers. In reality, they have divided the roles between them, so that everyone can say, it's not my fault, it's theirs! For the greater good of Chinese photovoltaics!

The summary

SNEC as a forum for exchangeThe SNEC was the occasion for a meeting between silicon producers and downstream processors, who discussed their grievances

A very favourable situation for silicon producersThese dialogues are not sufficient to change the position of silicon producers: they are not numerous enough to organise prices, the silicon slicers have linked up with each other by entering into long-term contracts; all need silicon

What can the downstream sector do in the face of rising silicon prices? Try to buy less to build up stocks if possible from silicon producers

Assemblers present themselves as victims: they pretend to be affected by price increases, while transferring to cell manufacturers the responsibility of establishing a bulwark against price increases

The interview with the panel manufacturers at the SNEC is indicative of a refusal to talkThe only thing that interests a reader is the reaction of the panel assemblers to this silicon price increase. Their answer is that you have to improve the technology, be alert to changes. As for the effect of these increases on the accounts, we will have to wait for the publication of the second quarter accounts!

There will be no reduction in panel prices in the near futureOne of the interviewees forgets to mention that panel prices will remain high. The monopoly of silicon producers allows them to maintain high prices. The industry is dependent on silicon and the panel manufacturers will need (they say) to restore their profitability. In reality, no one is sure what is going on in the closed world of manufacturers

The power plant builders will have to go through the sellers' prices: they will not be able to do otherwise. Either they delay construction or they buy expensive panels. In both cases, they lose out. Installations will be affected

.

The text

SNEC, a forum for exchange

The Shanghai trade fair, SNEC, which took place at the beginning of the month, was useful because it brought together silicon manufacturers and users of this basic material for the production of panels in one place. It enabled the latter to present the difficulties of the downstream sector to the former. The manufacturers understood that they could not continue to raise prices, but this did not encourage them to start lowering their prices. They benefit from limited production, from wafer manufacturers' silicon purchase contracts that are committed to a volume over several years, with a price determined monthly by the market. Wafer manufacturers have recklessly entered into a trap from which they will find it difficult to escape as prices are easily administered when trading small volumes. Wafer manufacturers thought they could pass on price increases to the downstream market. However, panel assemblers, in contact with end-users, were quick to point out (they say) that they could not find buyers if prices rose.

A very favourable situation for silicon producers

Despite this deaf dialogue between silicon producers and converters in the sector, the former have understood that the situation is favourable to them: they are few in number (the six main ones supply 90 to 95% of Chinese production: in 2020, according to the CPIA, Chinese silicon production stood at 392,000 tonnes. According to PV Magazine, the production capacity of China's top five silicon producers at the end of 2020 was 386,000 tonnes: Has silicon finished its price rise?). Buyers do not have the option of switching to other suppliers. The contracts that were supposed to provide a guarantee of supply to silicon wavers are the trap that puts them at the mercy of silicon producers. It is therefore in the interest of the silicon producers to keep prices high as they are the only source of supply.

One might have thought that there had been a build-up of silicon by a number of intermediaries or even by the wafer manufacturers. This would have led sooner or later to the use of these previously built up stocks. This use would have reduced silicon purchases and thus put pressure on silicon manufacturers. This hope is gradually evaporating: there will be no downward trend in prices and thus no deflation of the bubble. The silicon manufacturers, strengthened by their position, the irreplaceability of their product and their quasi-monopoly, will keep prices high.

What can the downstream sector do about rising silicon prices?

The downstream industry, consisting of wafer, cell and panel manufacturers, is trying to manage the situation. The silicon slicers felt that the cell manufacturers needed their wafers and that they would go through their prices, even if they were rising. Hence LONGi's and Zhonghuan's constant increases, which went down pretty well until this recent upgrade, which seems to be the one too many. Hence LONGi's delay in publishing its quotes and the hesitation of buyers to follow Zhonghuan's.

Resistance is to be found at the last two levels of the industry: in contact with users, panel manufacturers have slowed down the passing on of the price increase as much as they could (at least, that's what they say). They have reduced (they say) the use of their production capacity to half of its potential. This is because they have found that users are refusing to accept these repeated price increases; that buyers do not understand the reason for them; that silicon production capacity is that silicon production capacity is around 200 GW while demand in 2021 is expected to be between 160 and 180 GW, leaving room to easily feed the market. Even though they say they don't want these increases, they must have accepted some of them. PV Tech mentions that the price of panels is currently at its highest level for two years. He says that if silicon costs RMB 185/kg (it is currently between RMB 200 and 220/kg), the average price of a panel is about RMB 1.74/W ($0.27/W). He notes that panel prices have recently exceeded RMB 1.90/W in tenders for installations in China.

Assemblers present themselves as victims

In reality, there is a media offensive by assemblers to show that they are victims of the silicon producers. They insinuate that they are trying to deny the increases and that they are only just succeeding. They claim that customers do not accept these increases and that they refuse increases while passing on limited or total increases under the pretext that buyers would be unhappy with these increases and would postpone their orders.

The efforts of the panel assemblers to limit the passing on of increases (or rather what is presented as such by the companies concerned), transfers the burden of being the price policeman to the cell manufacturers. The assemblers pass on to them the task of rejecting increases from silicon slicers. It is always the weakest link that suffers in these cases, because while wafer manufacturing is in the hands of two giants, LONGi and Zhonghuan, cell manufacturing is divided between a few large, specialised players (Tonga, China).In addition, there are integrated manufacturers who also make panels and often wafers...

The interview with the panel manufacturers at SNEC reveals a refusal to talk

In this shadow game where the fault lies with the silicon producers, and the good guys are the panel assemblers who do everything to avoid the increase, the interview with various panel assemblers sheds light on the situation in a crude way: The article wants to know the reaction of the assemblers in this context of price increases. It would be worthwhile to explain how assemblers manage to cope financially, when, let's remember, the industry has become rigid with these long-term silicon purchase contracts. Some (Talesun) say they try to keep prices low, but how do they do that when silicon or cell prices are rising? Akcome, the most honest, recognises that being in the middle of the chain, it is affected by this increase. The others (Chint, Seraphim, Trina Solar, Suntech, ...) do not talk about the price increase or the evolution of their profitability, but about the interest of having a performing technology, of anticipating the changes, of accentuating the evolution of the technology.They talk about the benefits of having good technology, of anticipating change, of increasing automation to produce bigger and better, or of investing in the next technology by increasing research and development efforts. Where is the answer to the question that everyone is asking: are the panel assemblers victims of this increase or are they complicit by having passed on the increases? For the moment, we cannot answer this question. We will have the answer when the 2nd quarter accounts are published. But by then, either we will have become accustomed to high prices in the sector and these publications will be a non-event, or the companies will indeed be making a loss and sooner or later they will have to make up for their losses by not passing on the price drop.

There will be no reduction in panel prices in the near future

It is the latter case that seems most likely: there will be no drop in panel prices at least by the end of the year and probably even by the end of the first quarter of 2022. On the one hand, this is because there will be no start-up of large silicon production capacities, which would be the only way to bring prices down sustainably. In the meantime, silicon producers will be well advised not to lower their prices because the shortage, which is somewhat artificial at the moment, will become serious with the start-up of numerous wafer and cell production facilities. Whether it is the long term purchase contracts, the monopoly of the six manufacturers that allows prices to be held, or, above all, the irreplaceable nature of silicon, there is no reason to believe that the producers' attachment to high prices will diminish.

On the other handthe concentration of panel manufacturers: the ten largest account for 85% of world sales, enabling them to maintain their prices and above all their profit margins. Is it really possible to change panel suppliers when they have worked together to maintain a certain price level? Moreover, and this has escaped him, the head of Seraphim has announced that the price of panels is going to increase, whereas it has been falling for ten years. This is logical. Why would panel assemblers sell their production at 100, if they can sell it at 150 because of its rarity? All it takes is an agreement between the ten or so producers to keep the price high

Plant builders will have to go through the sellers' prices

However unhappy panel installers may be, they will have the choice of either postponing the construction of power plants, not making any money and therefore going bankrupt, or going through the producers' prices and passing these prices on to the principals. The latter may accept projects already under construction, but avoid or reduce new projects. Thus, the prospects for new power plant installations in European countries will shrink. As a result, panel installers will see less business.

If the large Chinese groups maintain this policy, this may give a new development potential to European micro-panel manufacturers. As they cannot find Chinese panels, installers could source them from China, but their production capacity will have to increase rapidly. However, anticipating new demand now is risky, as Chinese panel manufacturers will not go quietly. This is the consequence of a monopoly that has gradually been established.

For more information: market analyses https://www.energytrend.com/solar-price.html

https://www.infolink-group.com/en/solar/spot-price/2021-06-09-PV-spot-price

PV Tech's interviews at SNEC (Part 1)

PV Tech interviews at SNEC (part 2)

Subscribe to the newsletter "Le Fil de l'Actu"...

L R AS Publié le mardi 15 juin 2021 - n° 366 - Catégories : Regard sur le PV

Regard sur les bons et les mauvais producteurs chinois dans le PV

Après neuf mois de hausse du prix du silicium, va-t-il y avoir une diminution aussi rapide des prix comme chaque fois lorsqu’il y a une inflation des prix d’une matière première ? Va-t-on reprendre la baisse des prix des panneaux comme cela s’est passé depuis dix ans ? On peut l’espérer mais est-ce réaliste si on considère la situation du marché. Il y a un jeu de rôle entre les fabricants des différentes étapes de la filière photovoltaïque. Il y a les bons et les méchants producteurs. En réalité, ils se sont répartis les rôles, pour que chacun puisse dire, ce n’est pas ma faute, mais la sienne ! Pour le plus grand bien du photovoltaïque chinois !

 

Le résumé

Le SNEC, un espace d’échange : le salon a été l’occasion d’une rencontre entre producteurs de silicium et transformateurs en aval.Ces derniers ont évoqués leurs griefs

Une situation très favorable pour les producteurs de silicium : ces dialogues ne sont pas suffisants pour faire changer les producteurs de silicium de leur position : ils sont peu n ombreux pour organiser les prix, les trancheurs de silicium se sont liés, en passant des contrats à long terme ; tous ont besoin de silicium

Que peut faire l’aval devant la hausse des prix du silicium ? Essayer de moins acheter pour constituer des stocks si possibles chez les producteurs de silicium

Les assembleurs se présentent comme des victimes : ils font semblant de subir les hausses de prix, tout en transférant aux fabricants de cellules la responsabilité d’établir un rempart contre les hausses de prix

L’interview des fabricants de panneaux lors du SNEC est révélatrice d’un refus de parler : La seule chose qui intéresse un lecteur est la réaction des assembleurs de panneaux face à cette hausse de prix du silicium. Leur réponse est qu’il faut améliorer la technologie, être attentif aux mutations. Quant à savoir quel est l’effet de ces hausses sur les comptes, il faudra attendre la parution des comptes du 2ème trimestre !

Il n’y aura pas de baisse prochaine des prix des panneaux : un des interviewés s’oublie en indiquant que les prix des panneaux vont rester élevés. Le monopole des producteurs de silicium leur permet de maintenir des prix élevés. La filière dépend du silicium et les fabricants de panneaux auront besoin(diront-ils) qu’il leur faut rétablir leur rentabilité. En réalité, personne ne sait bien ce qui se passe dans le milieu très fermé des fabricants

Les constructeurs de centrales devront passer par les prix des vendeurs : ils ne pourront pas faire autrement. Soit ils retardent leurs constructions, soit ils achètent chers leurs panneaux. Dans les deux cas, ils sont perdants. Les installations vont en être affectées

 .

Le texte

Le SNEC, un espace d’échange

Le salon de Shanghai, le SNEC, qui a eu lieu en début de mois, a été utile car il a réuni dans un même lieu les fabricants de silicium et les utilisateurs de ce matériau de base pour la production de panneaux. Il a permis aux seconds de présenter aux premiers les difficultés de l’aval de la filière. Les fabricants ont compris qu’ils ne pouvaient pas continuer à faire monter les prix, mais cela ne les a pas incités à entamer la baisse de leurs tarifs. Ils profitent d’une production limitée, de contrats d’achat de silicium par les fabricants de plaquettes qui se sont engagés sur plusieurs années sur un volume, avec un prix déterminé mensuellement par le marché. De façon irréfléchie, les fabricants de plaquettes se sont engagés dans la nasse dont ils auront du mal à sortir car les prix sont facilement administrés lorsque les échanges portent sur de faibles volumes. Les trancheurs de silicium ont cru pouvoir répercuter sur l’aval les hausses de prix. Or, les assembleurs de panneaux, en contact avec les utilisateurs finaux ont très vite signifié (disent-ils) qu’ils ne pouvaient pas trouver d’acheteurs si les prix montaient.

Une situation très favorable pour les producteurs de silicium

Malgré ce dialogue de sourd entre producteurs de silicium et transformateurs de la filière, les premiers ont compris que la conjoncture leur était favorable : ils sont peu nombreux (les six principaux fournissent 90 à 95 % de la production chinoise : en 2020, selon le CPIA, la production chinoise de silicium s’est établie à 392.000 tonnes. Selon PV Magazine la capacité de production des cinq principaux producteurs chinois de silicium fin 2020 était de 386.000 tonnes : Le silicium a-t-il fini sa hausse de prix ?). Les acheteurs n’ont pas la possibilité de s’adresser à d’autres fournisseurs. Les contrats qui devaient fournir une garantie d’approvisionnement aux trancheurs de silicium, constituent le piège qui les met à la merci des producteurs de silicium. Ceux-ci ont donc intérêt à maintenir des prix élevés car ils sont les seuls par lequel il faut passer pour obtenir de la marchandise.

On aurait pu penser qu’il y avait eu accumulation de silicium par un certain nombre d’intermédiaires ou même par les fabricants de plaquettes. Ceci aurait alors conduit tôt ou tard à l’utilisation de ces stocks constitués antérieurement. Cette utilisation aurait permis de réduire les achats de silicium et donc de faire pression sur les fabricants de silicium. Cet espoir s’évapore progressivement : il n’y aura pas de tendance à la baisse des prix et donc dégonflement de la bulle. Les fabricants de silicium, forts de leur position, du caractère irremplaçable de leur produit et de leur quasi-monopole, laisseront les prix élevés.

Que peut faire l’aval devant la hausse des prix du silicium ?

L’aval, constitué par les fabricants de plaquettes, de cellules et de panneaux, essaie de gérer la situation. Les trancheurs de silicium ont estimé que les fabricants de cellules avaient besoin de leurs plaquettes et qu’ils passeraient par leurs prix, même en hausse. D’où les hausses constantes de LONGi et de Zhonghuan, qui sont plutôt bien passées jusqu’à cette récente revalorisation qui parait être celle de trop. D’où le retard de LONGi à publier ses cotations et les hésitations des acheteurs à suivre celles de Zhonghuan.

C’est que la résistance se situe aux deux derniers échelons de la filière : en contact avec les utilisateurs, les fabricants de panneaux ont freiné tant qu’ils le pouvaient (en tout cas, c’est ce qu’ils disent), la répercussion de la hausse des prix. Ils ont réduit (disent-ils) l’utilisation de leur capacité de production à la moitié du potentiel. C’est qu’ils ont constaté que les utilisateurs refusaient ces hausses à répétition ; que les acheteurs n’en comprenaient pas le motif ; que la capacité de production de silicium est de l’ordre de 200 GW alors que la demande 2021 devrait se situer entre 160 et 180 GW, ce qui laisse une marge pour alimenter aisément le marché. Même en affirmant refuser ces hausses, ils ont bien dû en accepter une partie. PV Tech mentionne que le prix des panneaux est actuellement à son plus haut niveau depuis deux ans. Il affirme que si le silicium coûte 185 RMB/kg (il est actuellement entre 200 et 220 RMB/kg), le prix moyen d’un panneau s’établit à environ 1,74 RMB/W (0,27 $/W). Il constate que le prix des panneaux a récemment dépassé les 1,90 RMB/W lors d’appels d’offres pour des installations en Chine.

Les assembleurs se présentent comme des victimes

En réalité, il y a une offensive médiatique des assembleurs pour montrer qu’ils sont victimes des producteurs de silicium. Ils insinuent qu’ils essaient de refuser les hausses et qu’ils n’y parviennent qu’à grand peine. Ils prétendent que les clients n’acceptent pas ces hausses et qu’ils refusent des hausses tout en passant de façon limitée ou totale les hausses subies, sous prétexte que les acheteurs seraient mécontents de ces hausses et reporteraient à plus tard leur commande.

L’effort des assembleurs de panneaux pour limiter la répercussion des hausses (ou plutôt ce qui est présenté comme tel par les entreprises concernées), reporte sur les fabricants de cellules la charge d’être le gendarme des prix. Les assembleurs leur transmettent la tâche de refuser les hausses provenant de trancheurs de silicium. C’est toujours le maillon faible qui trinque dans ces cas-là car autant la fabrication de plaquettes est entre les mains de deux géants, LONGi et Zhonghuan, autant celle de cellules est répartie entre quelques gros acteurs spécialisés (Tongwei et Aiko) auquel s’ajoutent les fabricants intégrés qui font aussi des panneaux et bien souvent des plaquettes…

L’interview des fabricants de panneaux lors du SNEC est révélatrice d’un refus de parler

Dans ce jeu d’ombres où la faute provient des producteurs de silicium, et où les bons sont les assembleurs de panneaux qui font tout pour éviter le hausses, l’interview de différents assembleurs de panneaux éclaire la situation d’une façon crue : l’article veut connaitre la réaction des assembleurs dans ce contexte de hausses de prix. Il vaudrait expliquer comment les assembleurs parviennent à s’en sortir financièrement, alors que, rappelons-le, la filière s’est rigidifiée avec ces contrats d’achat de silicium à long terme. Les uns (Talesun) affirme qu’ils cherchent à conserver des bas prix, mais comment font-ils lorsqu’il a des prix du silicium ou des cellules qui augmentent ? Akcome, le plus honnête, reconnait qu’en étant au milieu de la filière, il est affecté par cette hausse. Les autres (Chint, Seraphim, Trina Solar, Suntech, …) ne parlent pas de la hausse des prix ou de l’évolution de leur rentabilité, mais de l’intérêt d’avoir une technologie performante, de prévoir les changements, d’accentuer l’automatisation pour produire plus gros et plus grand, ou encore de miser sur la prochaine technologie en augmentant les efforts de recherche et développement. Où y a-t-il réponse à la question que tout le monde se pose : les assembleurs de panneaux, sont-ils victimes de cette hausse ou bien complices en ayant répercuté les hausses. Pour le moment, on ne peut pas répondre. On aura la réponse lors de la publication des comptes du 2ème trimestre. Seulement d’ici là ou bien on se sera habitué à un prix élevé dans la filière et ces publications seront un non-événement, ou bien les entreprises seront effectivement en perte et elles devront tôt ou tard apurer leurs pertes en ne répercutant pas le recul de prix.

Il n’y aura pas de baisse prochaine des prix des panneaux

C’est ce dernier cas qui parait le plus probable : il n’y aura pas de baisse de prix des panneaux au moins d’ici la fin de l’année et probablement même d’ici la fin du 1er trimestre 2022. D’une part car il n’y aura pas de mise en route d’importantes capacités de production de silicium, ce qui serait le seul moyen de faire baisser durablement les prix. D’ici là, les producteurs de silicium auront beau jeu de ne pas baisser leur prix car la pénurie, un peu artificielle actuellement, le deviendra sérieusement avec la mise en exploitation de nombreuses installations de production de plaquettes et de cellules. Que ce soient les contrats d’achat long terme, le monopole des six fabricants qui permet de tenir les prix, ou encore et surtout, le caractère irremplaçable du silicium, rien ne permet de croire à une atténuation de l’attachement des producteurs à des prix élevés.

D’autre part, la concentration des fabricants de panneaux : les dix plus importants représentent 85 % des ventes mondiales, leur permet de maintenir leur prix et surtout leur marge bénéficiaire. Peut-on vraiment changer de fournisseur de panneaux lorsqu’ils se sont concertés pour conserver un certain niveau de prix ? D’ailleurs, et cela lui a échappé, le dirigeant de Seraphim annonce que le prix des panneaux va augmenter alors qu’il a baissé depuis dix ans. C’est logique. Pourquoi les assembleurs de panneaux vendraient-ils leur production à 100, s’ils peuvent, du fait de sa rareté, la vendre à 150 ? Il suffit de s’entendre entre la dizaine de producteurs pour que le prix reste fixé à un haut niveau

Les constructeurs de centrales devront passer par les prix des vendeurs

Les installateurs de panneaux auront beau être mécontents, ils auront le choix entre reporter la construction de centrales, ne pas gagner d’argent et donc faire faillite, ou passer par les prix des producteurs et répercuter ces prix sur les donneurs d’ordre. Ceux-ci accepteront peut-être les projets déjà en cours de construction, mais éviteront ou réduiront les nouveaux projets. Ainsi, les perspectives d’installations de nouvelles centrales dans les pays européens vont se rétrécir. Les installateurs de panneaux subiront donc une moindre activité.

Si les grands groupes chinois maintiennent cette politique, ceci peut redonner un potentiel de développement aux micro-fabricants européens de panneaux. Ne pouvant pas trouver de panneaux chinois, les installateurs pourraient s’approvisionner chez eux, mais leurs capacités de production devront augmenter rapidement. Seulement, anticiper dès maintenant une nouvelle demande, est risquée, car les fabricants chinois de panneaux ne se laisseront pas faire. C’est la conséquence d’un monopole qui a été progressivement instauré.

Pour aller plus loin : les analyses du marché https://www.energytrend.com/solar-price.html

https://www.infolink-group.com/en/solar/spot-price/2021-06-09-PV-spot-price

Les interviews de PV Tech lors du SNEC (1ère partie)

Les interviews de PV Tech lors du SNEC (2ème partie)

 

 

S'inscrire à la newsletter "Le Fil de l'Actu"